Tongue holiday bed and breakfast accommodation
Tongue Latitude: 58.476147 Longitude: -4.417472 Postcode IV27
Tongue, beautiful gem of a Sutherland village, on the eastern shore of the Kyle of Tongue, giving some welcome relief from the desolation of moors to the south.
Its ancient lineage is evidenced by the ruins of Castle Varrich, thought to have been a Norse stronghold.
Tongue House nearby dates from the I7th century and was the seat of the Clan Mackay chiefs. The attractive parish church has a Laird's Loft worth seeing.
The area around Tongue has many archaeological sites indicating its attraction for human habitation for at least 2000 years.
Tongue B&B owners can advertise free.
The village and parish of Tongue (sometimes called Kirkiboll) is on the east side of the Kyle of Tongue some 31 miles north of Lairg.
The road runs along the west shore of Loch Royal between the water and Ben Loyal.
Tongue House was the home of the chiefs of Mackay, but the estates were sold by the 7th Lord Reay in 1829 to the Duke of Sutherland. Tongue House is a pleasant building, sheltered by trees and with a sundial in the garden, dated 1714.
The motto of the Mackays, Mamlyforti, appears on one of three pediments built into the wall of the dining-room the over mantel bears the Mackay arms. The Lords Reay became Dutch citizens, but returned earlier this centuary to re-adopt British citizenship.