Stromness holiday let accommodation
- Stromness Latitude: 58.9662° N Longitude 3.2965° W
- Stromness Postcode KW16
- Stromness WOEID 36508
Stromness is the second town after Kirkwall, it lies in a sheltered harbour at the west of the mainland and is further protected by the islands of Graemsay and Hoy.
Although known to Norsemen, it was of little importance until the mid-17th century when it became a trading port for Scotland and the Baltic, and a plaque at Login’s Well (sealed up in 1931) records visits of the Hudson‘s Bay Company’s ships from 1670 to 1891; of Capt, Cook‘s Resolution and Discovery in 1780 and Sir John Franklin’s ships Erebus and Terror ‘on Arctic exploration’ in 1845. It is said that at one time 75 per cent of the Hudson"s Bay employees in Canada were Orcadians, who found favour because of their industrious characteristics and acceptance of lower rates of pay.
The earliest houses date from about 1716, but Stromness did not come into its own as a town until 1758 when, thanks to the efforts ofAlexander Graham, the House of Lords decreed that its merchants need no longer pay taxes to Kirkwall authorities for their own trading.
The town, however, was early enough to build in the Norse way with paved thoroughfares between facing houses, and many of these, gableended towards the sea, have their own private jetties. Stromness has an excellent library at Hellihole containing important Orkney books, and the Orkney Natural History Society, founded in 1837, has a large collection in the Stromness museum. The town also boasts Orkney‘s ﬁrst indoor swimming pool and a picturesque golf course.