Charlestown of Aberlour Visitor Information Guide
Charlestown of Aberlour Banffshire is so named after its founder, Charles Grant of Wester Elchies, who laid out the original village in 1812, But it stands on a very ancient church site dedicated to St Drostan, and the original name of Aberlour parish was Skirdustan ‘Drostanis slice’. so the township is locally known simply as Aberlour, in defiance of what the maps may say Drostan's Well. surmounted by a simple cross, survives in the grounds of the local distillery.
Opposite it on the other side of the main road is the kirkyard with the ruins of the pre-Reformation church, and here too the Lour Burn is spanned by the ruined arch of the old highway to the kirk. About l mile south approached by a path along the Lour is the Linn of Ruthrie, a fine waterfall in a Wooded dell. Aberlours mile long, tree-shaded High Street has an attractive square and village green near its west end, from which a road leads past the station to the banks of the Spey, here spanned by a picturesque suspension foot-bridge.
The Church of St Margaret is very much worth a visit for the carving on its pillars of ﬂowers, fruit and animals in pre-Raphaelite profusion. About 0.5 miles east is the neo-classic pile of Aberlour House, now a preparatory school for Gordonstoun Overlooked by the graceful cone of Ben Rinnes on the south and by Ben Aigan on the north east and surrounded by finely Wooded, hilly country, Aberlour, with its fishing on the Spey, has a situation of great beauty. Charlestown offers mos types of holiday accommodation from Hotels, B&B, Guest Houses to Self Catering in idyllic cottages.
- Charlestown of Aberlour: Postcode AB38
- Charlestown of Aberlour: 57.4749° N Longitude: 3.2170° W
- Charlestown of Aberlour: WOEID 10275